In a dramatic Asia Cup 2025 clash between India and Sri Lanka that went down to a Super Over on Friday, one moment left fans and even players scratching their heads: Dasun Shanaka being given “not out” despite what seemed like a dismissal. During Sri Lanka’s Super Over after they amassed an exact 202/5 to tie the score, Arshdeep Singh bowled a near-perfect yorker to Shanaka on his fourth delivery. The ball whizzed past the bat, prompting an immediate appeal from Arshdeep and wicketkeeper Sanju Samson. Umpire Gazi Sohel raised his finger for caught behind.Shanaka, however, decided to review.Go Beyond The Boundary with our YouTube channel. SUBSCRIBE NOW!Now, here’s where things got confusing. Even as the caught-behind appeal was being processed, Shanaka inexplicably set off for a run. Wicketkeeper Sanju Samson, quick to notice, threw down the stumps with a direct hit. India celebrated, believing Shanaka was gone either way. However, since the initial decision had already been given as “out caught behind”, the ball was considered dead at that very moment. That meant Shanaka could not also be run out in the same sequence of play. When the review overturned the caught-behind dismissal, Shanaka survived completely despite being short of his ground. The ruling might appear confusing, but it’s rooted in the MCC laws of cricket: once a batter is declared out, the ball is dead instantly. Even if that dismissal is later overturned via DRS, no subsequent mode of dismissal from that same delivery can apply. India’s fielders were visibly perplexed, with umpire Sohel taking time to explain the law. Shanaka, for his part, was fortunate.Ultimately, Sri Lanka managed just two runs in the Super Over, leaving India to chase a modest target which they did with ease. The incident will likely spark further debate on whether the rules need tweaking for scenarios involving DRS, but as of now, Shanaka was saved by nothing more than a technicality.
Why was Dasun Shanaka given not out even after getting ‘out’?
- Arshdeep Singh bowled to Shanaka, India appealed for a caught-behind, and the on-field umpire gave him out.
- Shanaka reviewed, and UltraEdge showed no bat-ball contact, overturning the caught-behind dismissal.
- During the review, Shanaka ran for a single, and Samson hit the stumps with a direct throw.
- The ball was dead once the umpire initially gave Shanaka out, so he could not be run out.
- As a result, Shanaka remained not out, saved by the technicality in the laws of cricket.